Murray Hill, NJ, USA

Theodore Sizer



Dr. Theodore(Tod) Sizer is Vice President of the Wireless Research Program in Bell Labs.  In this role he leads teams in six worldwide locations innovating in all aspects of wireless systems, technology and software.  In addition his teams collaborate with fixed access systems, including copper and optical, and explores special opportunities at the convergence of the wired and wireless realm.

Tod has been leading the vision and research of 5G and the new technologies required to meet the needs of an Always Connected world with expected Infinite Capacity.  He has had significant impact as a key proponent and inventor of the lightRadio™ and small cell technology and systems leading to Alcatel-Lucent’s product line solution to address the current Wireless Data explosion.  During his tenure at Bell Labs he has performed research in Wired and Wireless Home Networking, Fixed Wireless Loop systems, Video Watermarking technologies, Optical Computing and Switching Systems, and High Power Laser Design. He was a member of the technical team in Lucent’s role as a promoter in the Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG). 

A member of the Board of Directors of the Alcatel-Lucent Foundation, Tod also serves as a member of the VCAT (Visiting  Committee on Advanced Technology) which is the principal industry advisory board towards NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology), part of the US Department of Commerce.  He is the author of 52 US patents, over 50 refereed publications and is a member of the IEEE and OSA.


Ph.D. Optics, University of Rochester
B.A., Magna Cum Laude, Physics and AstronomyAmherst College

Honors & Awards

  • Popular Science Breakthrough Innovation Award for lightRadio invention. 2012
  • Wireless World Research Forum Fellow 2012
  • Popular Mechanics, Top 10 Innovations of 2011, "lightRadio(tm) cube"
  • Bell Labs Fellow, "For sustained creative contributions to wireless systems, particularly in the convergence of packet and wireless technologies”. 2007
  • Distinguished Member of Technical Staff, 1997